British National Curriculum



“The wider the range of possibilities we offer children, the more intense will be their motivations and the richer their experiences. We must widen the range of topics and goals, the types of situations we offer and their degree of structure, the kinds and combinations of resources and materials, and the possible interactions with things, peers, and adults”.

Loris Malaguzzi 


At Bluebird International School we have researched and chosen the most suitable, age appropriate curriculum to ensure our students are learning and growing with a 21st century learning mindset. With the rapidly changing world as a backdrop we have developed a two tiered delivery which complement each other and move our students toward problem solving, critical thinking and global awareness.

The EYFS curriculum focuses on the 7 domains and is broken down into four age bands, called Development Matters bands: 16-26 months, 22-36 months, 30-50 months and 40-60 months. Each band addresses holistic learning with age appropriate tasks and practices.


The seven domains encompass;

       ·        Communication and language

       ·         Physical development

       ·         Personal, social and emotional development (PSE)

       ·         Literacy

       ·         Mathematics

       ·         Understanding the world

       ·         Expressive arts and design


Using the EFYS framework students are grounded in learning through play to focus on their emotional and social development firstly, then move to the intellectual and physical domains as they develop resilience, independence and self-regulation. This allows students to establish a questioning framework whereby they measure experience against their own knowledge and to subsequently build knowledge and understandings as they develop a social and emotional conscience. It embodies teaching students how to learn.


The IPC (International Primary Curriculum) builds from the foundation stage and moves students toward the acquisition of Knowledge, Skills and Understanding.

It is a clear focus on learning how to learn.  There is   a strong focus on these domains and through theme based immersion students are taught how; Knowledge is continually evolving and being added to as we undertake new learning, Skills need to be learned and practiced over time and that Understanding is always developing and can not be ”taught”.


The IPC is further strengthened by its focus on Personal, International and Learning (subject specific) goals. The personal goals are consistently foregrounded to ensure students are moving toward problem solving and critical thinking which in turn provides them with the skills and understanding to pursue knowledge. The international goals are embraced to encourage children to think in terms of being a global citizen and the learning goals provide a clear framework for students and teachers to assess the learning and understandings taking place.



IPC information

The IPC is an enquiry based framework that explores learning through themed units and focuses learning through goal setting and students teacher enquiry.


Learning Goals

The learning goals are the foundation on which the International Primary Curriculum is built. The IPC provides children with subject goals, learning goals, personal learning goals, and uniquely, international learning goals, and these are defined for each age phase.

Personal Goals

Personal goals underpin the individual qualities and dispositions we believe children will find essential in the 21st century. There are 8 IPC Personal Goals – enquiry, resilience, morality, communication, thoughtfulness, cooperation, respect and adaptability. Opportunities to experience and practice these are built into the learning tasks within each unit of work.

Subject Goals

Subject goals cover the knowledge, skills and understanding of children relating to the subjects they are learning. There are subject learning goals for Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, ICT & Computing, Technology, History, Geography, Music, Physical Education, Art and Society.

International Goals

International learning goals are unique to our curriculum and help young children begin the move towards an increasingly sophisticated national, international and intercultural perspective. Each thematic IPC unit includes an international aspect, to help develop a sense of ‘international mindedness’ and encourage students to see themselves as a global citizen.

Themed Units Of Learning

People learn best when they want to learn and the IPC over 130 themed units designed to ignite curiosity and build a passion for discovery.
Topics are varied and regularly updated to ensure students have access to the most up to date educational tools and materials. The units are designed to move students to developing knowledge skills and understandings by helping them to see that learning is interdependent and independent as well as encompassing the big picture which helps them make connections across subjects.

Four Overarching Principles

A unique child

We recognise that every child is a competent learner who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured. Children develop in individual ways, at varying rates. Children’s attitudes and dispositions to learning are influenced by feedback from others; we use praise and encouragement to motivate children.

Positive relationships

We recognise that children learn to be strong and independent from secure relationships, and therefore aim to develop caring, respectful, positive relationships with the children and their families.

Enabling environments

We recognise that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending the children’s development and we will seek to observe the children and assess their interests and development, before planning challenging but achievable activities and experiences to extend their learning.

Learning and development

We recognise that children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates, so we make sure our designed syllabus and activities meet the needs of every child.

Bluebird incorporates a broad range of tangible school readiness activities which benefit children cognitively, socially, intellectually and in language development. The subject matter chosen is age-appropriate, including those with special education needs (SEN).

seven areas of learning and development

Communication and Language
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design