British National Curriculum

Four Overarching Principles

A unique child

We recognise that every child is a competent learner who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured. Children develop in individual ways, at varying rates. Children’s attitudes and dispositions to learning are influenced by feedback from others; we use praise and encouragement to motivate children.

Positive relationships

We recognise that children learn to be strong and independent from secure relationships, and therefore aim to develop caring, respectful, positive relationships with the children and their families.

Enabling environments

We recognise that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending the children’s development and we will seek to observe the children and assess their interests and development, before planning challenging but achievable activities and experiences to extend their learning.

Learning and development

We recognise that children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates, so we make sure our designed syllabus and activities meet the needs of every child.

Our Early Years Experts

Rachael is our School Principal. She has a wealth of experience working with children professionally for over the past 25 years, including 10 years functioning as a private nursery manager. She’s from England. 

rachael fox-smith

Heidi has NVQ3 Ofsted approved qualifications in childcare and early years education. Her 5 year work experience includes teaching young children in England, Finland and Malta.   

Heidi Makela

Natasha is from Ireland. She has more than 25 year working experience in early years education. Her qualifications include NNEB diploma in childcare and education, and Level 3 certificate in EYFS.  

Natasha Tieman

Bluebird incorporates a broad range of tangible school readiness activities which benefit children cognitively, socially, intellectually and in language development. The subject matter chosen is age-appropriate, including those with special education needs (SEN).

seven areas of learning and development

Communication and Language
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design